Friday, August 8, 2008

Fernando returns for India one-dayers

Sri Lanka squad for ODI series v India:

  • Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Chamara Kapugedera, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Mahela Udawatte, Dilhara Fernando.
  • Champions Trophy squad:
    Same as above, except Farveez Maharoof comes in for Kaushal Weeraratne

Dilhara Fernando, the Sri Lankan fast bowler who has just recovered from a leg injury, has been retained in the one-day squad for the five-match series against India and the Champions Trophy in Pakistan. Medium-pacer Farveez Maharoof returns for the Champions Trophy while Lasith Malinga remains on the sidelines.

Sri Lanka have named virtually the same squad which won the Asia Cup last month. The only absentee from that side is middle-order batsman Jehan Mubarak, who will be touring South Africa with the Sri Lanka A team.

For the Champions Trophy, Farveez Maharoof will replace Kaushalya Weeraratne if he (Maharoof) recovers fully from his side strain. Both Fernando and Maharoof had their fitness tested in a one-day practice match arranged among players drawn from the Sri Lanka A team and the development squad before the selectors finally made the decision to pick them.